Why Should You Call an Aggravated Assault Lawyer After Being Charged?

0
680

Aggravated assault laws in Texas are stringent, and it is considered a second-degree felony. If a person is convicted of aggravated assault, they could be sentenced to prison for anywhere between 2 to 20 years. The convicted could also have to pay a fine of up to $10,000. In some cases, depending on the nature of the crime, the sentence could be between 5 to 99 years, which practically means life imprisonment.

While in Houston aggravated assault lawyer if you have been charged with assault. Many people use this charge to get back to someone they might have a grudge against. They can use it to lodge fake complaints, and you need to have a good lawyer by your side to counteract them.

  1. Setting Up a Proper Defense Case

Whether you have been charged with a first or second-degree felony, you should be able to defend yourself. If you think you have been wrongfully charged, then it is your right to seek legal help.

By Mid-March 2020, there was a rise of 9% in aggravated assaults and 1.3% in domestic violence cases in Houston. With an increasing number of cases, HPD is now more focused on capturing criminals. Unless you have a solid defense, you may not get out of their suspects’ list.

In Houston, an aggravated assault lawyer will tell you about your rights and make sure you are correctly represented. Even if there was an assault through your hands, it could have been an act of self-defense. The lawyer will make sure your side of the story is narrated in court.

  1. Gather Evidence and Documentation

If you have been wrongfully accused of aggravated assault, then the lawyer will gather evidence to the contrary. Once you have been charged, you might be taken into custody or under house arrest, and your movements would be severely restricted.

A lawyer finds out more about the case from police reports by examining circumstantial evidence and questioning witnesses. Was the assault an act of self-defense? Was it provoked, or were you influenced in some other way? Was there a weapon used during the assault, and how did you come by it?

Under Section 22 of the Texas Penal Code, an assault with a deadly weapon or an object wielded like a weapon could attract the highest penalties. Did someone place it on you? Finding the answers to these questions can be crucial for building your case.

  1. Adequate Punishment Sentence

Even if you have been charged with assault, you were responsible for it in some measure; your punishment could only be determined following the extent of your crime. If there isn’t a lawyer to help you out, you could suffer as the opposing lawyer pleads for unjust punishment modes.

Maybe your intention was not to cause harm in the first place, and it was an accident. An attorney will make sure you do not have to bear more punishment than required.

  1. To Clear your Reputation

Being charged with aggravated assault can be damaging for your reputation. You will have your friends distancing themselves from you. Relationships with your family could become strained. The only way to get things back on track is to clear your name, and that will only happen when the court of law declares you innocent. If you have been wrongfully accused of assault, then you must hire a competent lawyer to clear your name.

An aggravated assault lawyer will weigh in your case’s strengths and weaknesses and present them in court, keeping your interests in mind. An experienced attorney will go out of the way to assist you, and that will make a massive difference during the trial. Seek their help and trust their strategies to get wrongly charged with assault in Houston, Texas.

Comments are closed.