| Latest News, Videos and Live Video

Saturday December 20th 2014

Latest Earthquake News + Earthquakes Today Worldwide Real-Time Updates

Earthquake news + latest earthquakes today from around the world updated in real-time by RSS feeds, latest news is lower down the page below today’s latest earthquakes!!

USGS Magnitude 2.5+ Earthquakes, Past Day

M 2.9 – 8km NW of The Geysers, California

DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-20 04:53:34 UTC
2014-12-19 20:53:34 -08:00 at epicenter
Location
38.822°N 122.840°W
Depth
2.14 km (1.33 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 8:34 am

M 3.2 – 74km WSW of Cantwell, Alaska

DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-20 07:32:43 UTC
2014-12-19 22:32:43 -09:00 at epicenter
Location
63.190°N 150.363°W
Depth
113.50 km (70.53 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 8:06 am

M 2.9 – 73km ESE of Lakeview, Oregon

ShakeMap – III DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-20 06:04:10 UTC
2014-12-19 22:04:10 -08:00 at epicenter
Location
41.836°N 119.601°W
Depth
4.83 km (3.00 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 8:05 am

M 2.6 – 67km ESE of Lakeview, Oregon

Time
2014-12-19 23:45:41 UTC
2014-12-19 15:45:41 -08:00 at epicenter
Location
41.904°N 119.627°W
Depth
10.09 km (6.27 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 7:48 am

M 3.1 – 71km ESE of Lakeview, Oregon

ShakeMap – III DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-20 06:44:40 UTC
2014-12-19 22:44:40 -08:00 at epicenter
Location
41.860°N 119.606°W
Depth
4.89 km (3.04 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 7:30 am

M 3.2 – 23km SSW of Redoubt Volcano, Alaska

DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-20 06:33:46 UTC
2014-12-19 21:33:46 -09:00 at epicenter
Location
60.303°N 152.957°W
Depth
115.80 km (71.95 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 7:29 am

M 2.8 – 2km SE of Medford, Oklahoma

DYFI? – III

Time
2014-12-20 04:59:07 UTC
2014-12-19 22:59:07 -06:00 at epicenter
Location
36.793°N 97.707°W
Depth
5.00 km (3.11 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 7:13 am

M 5.2 – 273km WNW of Antipodes Island, New Zealand

Time
2014-12-19 22:58:38 UTC
2014-12-20 10:58:38 +12:00 at epicenter
Location
48.976°S 175.189°E
Depth
14.72 km (9.15 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 7:01 am

M 4.4 – 87km WSW of Chernabura Island, Alaska

Time
2014-12-19 22:55:29 UTC
2014-12-19 11:55:29 -11:00 at epicenter
Location
54.445°N 160.785°W
Depth
5.80 km (3.60 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 6:57 am

M 4.2 – 11km WSW of Stefanavikion, Greece

DYFI? – II

Time
2014-12-19 22:40:34 UTC
2014-12-20 00:40:34 +02:00 at epicenter
Location
39.412°N 22.622°E
Depth
10.00 km (6.21 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 6:40 am

M 2.6 – 18km NW of Anchorage, Alaska

Time
2014-12-19 22:19:10 UTC
2014-12-19 13:19:10 -09:00 at epicenter
Location
61.352°N 150.097°W
Depth
38.30 km (23.80 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 6:21 am

M 2.7 – 24km ENE of Cherokee, Oklahoma

DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-20 04:45:09 UTC
2014-12-19 22:45:09 -06:00 at epicenter
Location
36.867°N 98.120°W
Depth
5.30 km (3.29 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 5:24 am

M 3.4 – 46km S of Deltana, Alaska

DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-20 04:16:10 UTC
2014-12-19 19:16:10 -09:00 at epicenter
Location
63.460°N 145.044°W
Depth
13.70 km (8.51 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 5:01 am

M 3.5 – 75km SE of Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

Time
2014-12-19 19:58:01 UTC
2014-12-19 14:58:01 -05:00 at epicenter
Location
18.041°N 67.972°W
Depth
101.00 km (62.76 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 4:00 am

M 5.6 – 2km SSW of Pointe-Noire, Guadeloupe

PAGER – GREEN ShakeMap – IV DYFI? – V

Time
2014-12-19 19:49:30 UTC
2014-12-19 15:49:30 -04:00 at epicenter
Location
16.213°N 61.793°W
Depth
114.68 km (71.26 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 3:13 am

M 3.6 – 22km SSW of Amatignak Island, Alaska

DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-20 02:11:20 UTC
2014-12-19 16:11:20 -10:00 at epicenter
Location
51.065°N 179.177°W
Depth
25.60 km (15.91 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 3:08 am

M 4.6 – North Indian Ocean

DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-20 02:45:35 UTC
2014-12-20 08:45:35 +06:00 at epicenter
Location
1.562°N 90.846°E
Depth
10.00 km (6.21 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 3:04 am

M 2.7 – 69km ESE of Lakeview, Oregon

DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-19 13:38:39 UTC
2014-12-19 05:38:39 -08:00 at epicenter
Location
41.875°N 119.618°W
Depth
6.19 km (3.84 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 2:41 am

M 3.3 – 71km ESE of Lakeview, Oregon

ShakeMap – III DYFI? – II

Time
2014-12-19 13:37:12 UTC
2014-12-19 05:37:12 -08:00 at epicenter
Location
41.866°N 119.604°W
Depth
2.82 km (1.75 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 2:40 am

M 3.7 – 76km ESE of Lakeview, Oregon

ShakeMap – IV DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-19 13:33:13 UTC
2014-12-19 05:33:13 -08:00 at epicenter
Location
41.838°N 119.556°W
Depth
3.13 km (1.94 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 2:39 am

M 4.6 – 41km SW of Tilamuta, Indonesia

Time
2014-12-19 18:09:24 UTC
2014-12-20 02:09:24 +08:00 at epicenter
Location
0.308°N 122.048°E
Depth
160.90 km (99.98 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 2:12 am

M 2.5 – 2km ENE of Corcovado, Puerto Rico

DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-20 00:34:48 UTC
2014-12-19 20:34:48 -04:00 at epicenter
Location
18.467°N 66.759°W
Depth
17.00 km (10.56 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 2:04 am

M 4.7 – 282km NW of Saumlaki, Indonesia

DYFI? – I

Time
2014-12-20 00:35:45 UTC
2014-12-20 09:35:45 +09:00 at epicenter
Location
6.404°S 129.282°E
Depth
218.90 km (136.02 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 2:01 am

M 4.4 – 84km WSW of Filiatra, Greece

Time
2014-12-19 17:17:56 UTC
2014-12-19 18:17:56 +01:00 at epicenter
Location
36.914°N 20.675°E
Depth
29.46 km (18.31 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 1:20 am

M 2.7 – 72km ESE of Lakeview, Oregon

Time
2014-12-19 17:10:52 UTC
2014-12-19 09:10:52 -08:00 at epicenter
Location
41.851°N 119.599°W
Depth
4.44 km (2.76 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 1:13 am

M 4.8 – 113km NW of Constitucion, Chile

Time
2014-12-19 17:08:34 UTC
2014-12-19 12:08:34 -05:00 at epicenter
Location
34.572°S 73.239°W
Depth
13.52 km (8.40 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 1:11 am

M 3.3 – 80km ENE of Cantwell, Alaska

Time
2014-12-19 16:40:24 UTC
2014-12-19 07:40:24 -09:00 at epicenter
Location
63.540°N 147.367°W
Depth
4.80 km (2.98 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 12:42 am

M 2.5 – 81km ENE of Cantwell, Alaska

Time
2014-12-19 16:24:55 UTC
2014-12-19 07:24:55 -09:00 at epicenter
Location
63.528°N 147.353°W
Depth
4.00 km (2.49 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 12:27 am

M 2.8 – 80km E of Cantwell, Alaska

Time
2014-12-19 16:21:40 UTC
2014-12-19 07:21:40 -09:00 at epicenter
Location
63.523°N 147.363°W
Depth
3.50 km (2.17 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 12:24 am

M 2.9 – 22km W of Pawnee, Oklahoma

DYFI? – II

Time
2014-12-20 00:00:41 UTC
2014-12-19 18:00:41 -06:00 at epicenter
Location
36.370°N 97.051°W
Depth
5.00 km (3.11 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 12:18 am

M 2.5 – 90km WSW of Cordova, Alaska

Time
2014-12-19 16:10:04 UTC
2014-12-19 07:10:04 -09:00 at epicenter
Location
60.156°N 147.191°W
Depth
8.40 km (5.22 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 12:12 am

M 4.7 – 37km SW of Suchiate, Mexico

Time
2014-12-19 16:05:25 UTC
2014-12-19 10:05:25 -06:00 at epicenter
Location
14.353°N 92.502°W
Depth
67.81 km (42.14 mi)

Posted on 20 December 2014 | 12:08 am

M 3.2 – 12km SSE of Grand Ronde, Oregon

ShakeMap – III DYFI? – III

Time
2014-12-19 14:01:06 UTC
2014-12-19 06:01:06 -08:00 at epicenter
Location
44.956°N 123.554°W
Depth
24.74 km (15.37 mi)

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 11:40 pm

M 3.1 – 72km ESE of Lakeview, Oregon

ShakeMap – III

Time
2014-12-19 15:29:43 UTC
2014-12-19 07:29:43 -08:00 at epicenter
Location
41.849°N 119.626°W
Depth
5.55 km (3.45 mi)

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 11:32 pm

M 2.8 – 77km N of Charlotte Amalie, U.S. Virgin Islands

Time
2014-12-19 15:16:52 UTC
2014-12-19 11:16:52 -04:00 at epicenter
Location
19.039°N 65.004°W
Depth
20.00 km (12.43 mi)

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 11:19 pm

M 5.3 – 133km NNW of Sabang, Indonesia

Time
2014-12-19 14:41:46 UTC
2014-12-19 20:41:46 +06:00 at epicenter
Location
6.941°N 94.718°E
Depth
33.54 km (20.84 mi)

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 10:44 pm

M 3.0 – 66km SE of Lakeview, Oregon

ShakeMap – III

Time
2014-12-19 14:41:00 UTC
2014-12-19 06:41:00 -08:00 at epicenter
Location
41.857°N 119.598°W
Depth
3.96 km (2.46 mi)

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 10:43 pm

M 2.8 – 69km ESE of Lakeview, Oregon

Time
2014-12-19 14:36:15 UTC
2014-12-19 06:36:15 -08:00 at epicenter
Location
41.851°N 119.606°W
Depth
4.14 km (2.57 mi)

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 10:38 pm

M 5.0 – 38km NNE of Gisborne, New Zealand

Time
2014-12-19 12:51:20 UTC
2014-12-20 01:51:20 +13:00 at epicenter
Location
38.351°S 178.215°E
Depth
43.13 km (26.80 mi)

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 8:53 pm

M 3.9 – 63km SSE of Chignik Lake, Alaska

ShakeMap – III

Time
2014-12-19 09:05:23 UTC
2014-12-19 00:05:23 -09:00 at epicenter
Location
55.736°N 158.358°W
Depth
42.30 km (26.28 mi)

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 8:50 pm

Earthquake – Google News

5.8 magnitude earthquake strikes off Guadeloupe – Caribbean360.com (subscription)


Caribbean360.com (subscription)

5.8 magnitude earthquake strikes off Guadeloupe
Caribbean360.com (subscription)
guadeloupe-earthquake POINT-A-PITRE, Guadeloupe, Friday December 19, 2014 – A 5.8 magnitude earthquake centred 13km north-west of Guadeloupe – and felt in Antigua, Nevis, Dominica and Martinique – is the latest seismic event to rattle the Eastern …
Earthquake Causes Shaking in Guadeloupe, St Maarten, DominicaCaribbean Journal

all 4 news articles »

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 10:24 pm

Magnitude 5.7 earthquake strikes France’s Guadeloupe: USGS – Reuters


Magnitude 5.7 earthquake strikes France's Guadeloupe: USGS
Reuters
WASHINGTON (Reuters) – A magnitude 5.7 earthquake struck the Basse-Terre island of the France's Guadeloupe archipelago in the Antilles on Friday, the U.S. Geological Survey said. It said the quake's epicenter was located three miles (4.8 km)northwest

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 9:50 pm

UC Davis Scientists Say Next Napa Earthquake Could Be Much Bigger, More … – CBS Local


CBS Local

UC Davis Scientists Say Next Napa Earthquake Could Be Much Bigger, More
CBS Local
DAVIS (CBS SF) — The next earthquake in the Napa Valley could be much stronger than the magnitude 6 quake that shook the region in August, according to preliminary research from the University of California at Davis. A team of geologists and graduate …
UC Davis study finds next Napa earthquake could imperil Delta leveesSacramento Bee
Earth in Northern California Still Moving Months After Earthquake | The The Weather Channel
The next Napa earthquake could be much bigger, scientists findUC Davis
Los Angeles Times -NBC Bay Area
all 17 news articles »

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 9:45 pm

A 13th Earthquake Reported in Irving – NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth


CBS Local

A 13th Earthquake Reported in Irving
NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
It's the 13th quake in less than two months to shake the city. The last reported earthquake occurred on Wednesday, December 17. There have been no reports of any damage. The epicenter was detected at a depth of 3 km. The magnitude registered 2.4.
Magnitude 4.3 Earthquake Strikes Off NorCal CoastCBS Local
Earthquake: 3.2 quake strikes near Bridgeport, Calif. on US 395Los Angeles Times
Another small earthquake in IrvingWFAA
AL.com -UPI.com -FOX6 WBRC – MyFoxAL.com
all 29 news articles »

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 9:01 pm

Another day, another earthquake in Irving — this one a 2.4 on Friday morning – Dallas Morning News (blog)


Another day, another earthquake in Irving — this one a 2.4 on Friday morning
Dallas Morning News (blog)
“You just look at the history of earthquakes, and that tells you a lot right there.” But don't expect him to have an answer: He just finds them and measures them. And finding them these days is becoming a full-time gig, considering how few sensors we

and more »

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 5:55 pm

3.2 earthquake recorded near Willamina – KPTV.com


KTVZ

3.2 earthquake recorded near Willamina
KPTV.com
The quake hit at 6:01 a.m. seven miles southwest of Willamina and 11 miles northwest of Dallas. A report from the Pacific Northwest Seismic Center said the earthquake was centered 16 miles deep. Marion County and Yamhill County emergency dispatchers …
3.2 quake reported near Willamina, west of Salemkgw.com
3.2 earthquake recorded west of SalemKTVZ
SMALL EARTHQUAKELincoln City News Guard
750 KXL
all 68 news articles »

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 3:51 pm

5.3 Magnitude Earthquake Hits Bihar – International Business Times, India Edition


Daily News & Analysis

5.3 Magnitude Earthquake Hits Bihar
International Business Times, India Edition
Mild tremors of earthquake has been reported from many parts of Bihar, including the capital city of Patna, triggering panic among residents. As more details of the earthquake are awaited, it is understood that the epicentre of the earthquake was in Nepal.
5.2 intensity earthquake triggers panic in BiharThe Indian Express

all 17 news articles »

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 3:47 am

A Major Earthquake Could Cripple Los Angeles’ Water Supply | The Weather … – The Weather Channel


The Weather Channel

A Major Earthquake Could Cripple Los Angeles' Water Supply | The Weather
The Weather Channel
Rescue workers survey the destruction of the Northridge Meadows Apartments in California early on Jan. 18, 1994 after an earthquake collapsed the structure on Jan. 17.(Bob Pearson/AFP/Getty Images) …

and more »

Posted on 18 December 2014 | 12:24 am

Earthquake could destroy LA’s water lifeline – Los Angeles Times


Los Angeles Times

Earthquake could destroy LA's water lifeline
Los Angeles Times
Garcetti acknowledged that the high cost of the water projects, along with his proposals to retrofit thousands of vulnerable buildings and preserve access to the Internet after an earthquake, would have a total price tag in the billions. But failing to
One Earthquake Could Make Los Angeles Die of ThirstGawker
Major Earthquake Could Cut Off Water Supply to LA; Making It Less Vulnerable KTLA

all 5 news articles »

Posted on 16 December 2014 | 3:28 pm

California receives US funding for earthquake early-warning system – Los Angeles Times


Los Angeles Times

California receives US funding for earthquake early-warning system
Los Angeles Times
California has received congressional funding to begin rolling out an earthquake early-warning system next year, capping nearly a decade of planning, setbacks and technological breakthroughs, officials said Sunday. Scientists have long planned to make …
California gets $5 million for early earthquake warning systemKABC-TV
Congress approves launch of underfunded Shake Alert System, an earthquake abc7news.com
Earthquake early-warning system gets $5 million from CongressContra Costa Times
LA Weekly -Fox News -CBS Local
all 186 news articles »

Posted on 15 December 2014 | 3:26 am

Earthquake – Yahoo News Search Results

UC Davis Scientists Say Next Napa Earthquake Could Be Much Bigger, More Destructive

The next earthquake in the Napa Valley could be much stronger than the magnitude 6 quake that shook the region in August, according to preliminary research from the University of California at Davis.

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 8:30 pm

'Earthquake' needed to change World Cup hosts – Blatter

FIFA will release an "appropriate" version of a report into alleged corruption surrounding the 2018 and 2022 World Cups but president Sepp Blatter on Friday ruled out moving the tournaments from Russia and Qatar. The president of football's ruling body sought to silence a growing number of critics after the FIFA executive unanimously voted to release an edited version of a report drawn up by top …

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 5:13 pm

"Earthquake" needed to change 2022 World Cup – Blatter

Only an "earthquake" can change FIFA's decision to hold the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, FIFA president Sepp Blatter said Friday.

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 1:59 pm

5.5-Magnitude earthquake strikes off the coast of Japan

JC Finley TOKYO, Dec. 19 (UPI) — A 5.5-magnitude earthquake struck off Japan's coast Friday evening at 5:49 p.m. local time.

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 11:47 am

Magnitude 4.3 Earthquake Strikes Off NorCal Coast

A earthquake registering a preliminary magnitude of 4.3 struck off the coast of Eureka, California, according to the U.S. Geological Survey's automated seismograph alert network.

Posted on 19 December 2014 | 3:04 am

Afternoon tea for 1931 earthquake survivors

Afternoon tea will again be served to survivors of the 1931 Hawke’s Bay Earthquake at a special event in February.

Posted on 18 December 2014 | 9:50 pm

Magnitude 5.1 earthquake strikes near LA

A magnitude 5.1 earthquake struck near Los Angeles on Friday, rattling a wide swath of Southern California, the U.S. Geological Survey said.        

Posted on 18 December 2014 | 6:42 pm

Earthquake early warnings could go public in 2 years

An earthquake early-warning system could be available to the public in as little as two years once enough funding is secured, a top federal scientist said this week.

Posted on 18 December 2014 | 6:09 pm

Earthquake: 3.0 quake strikes near Soledad

A shallow magnitude 3.0 earthquake was reported Tuesday morning 13 miles from Soledad, Calif., according to the U.S. Geological Survey. The temblor occurred at 2:48 a.m. PST at a depth of 3.7 miles.

Posted on 16 December 2014 | 2:19 pm

California receives U.S. funding for earthquake early-warning system

California has received congressional funding to begin rolling out an earthquake early-warning system next year, capping nearly a decade of planning, setbacks and technological breakthroughs, officials said Sunday.

Posted on 15 December 2014 | 3:35 am